Mauritius Dining Reviews


Dive into our collection of restaurant reviews and shake up your dining routine by discovering which restaurants are the best to visit and which ones to avoid.

1422reviews found.
Reviews

Zub Express Restaurant

09/11/2009 by Zeinah

Last year my boyfriend and I went to Zub Express after a day at the seaside. I had been there previously with my family and had had an average experience. Before moving to the top floor for dinner, I chose to visit the restroom to wash my hands and attend nature's call. I was shocked by the dirtiness of the toilet! Later, hardly had we been seated and shown the menu (1 or 2 minutes) than the waiter asked us if he could take our orders. We answered that we had not decided yet and would need some more minutes. On that he replied "Pas dire mo pan vine prend zot commande apres" in a condescending tone and walked away. This really put us off. My boyfriend rested his elbow on the table, asking what we should do. The table top then rose under the pressure from his elbow. It turned out the table was just a plywood placed on a base, with no rivetting at all. We both agreed it was too much for a day and left the restaurant.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

02/12/2009 by Benedict Carey

Some effort seems to have gone into making the restaurant interior a bit more up market, but it is very cluttered and cramped with far too much going on ... eg, internet cafe in one corner, deafening noisy kitchen equipment being used in the open bar. The staff are friendly and helpful, but we had some communication problems (as did others). It may have been the noise or something to do with languages. The menu is diverse and interesting, with some very appetising and original dishes on offer. The selection we had ranged from good and tasty, to innovative to downright inedible due to over seasoning. Also many of the dishes had a slight burned flavour, I don't think they'd been burned, but I think something had been in the kitchen. I would like to say I'd go back and try some more of their dishes, but unfortunately (for them) there are better restaurants around. I'm sure they can sort out these little issues in due course and have a very good offering. Worth pointing out they do not serve alcoholic drinks, and have a sign saying they don't allow drinks from outside. Wasn't a problem for us, but some other guests were a little put out as you don't know until you ask!

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

03/03/2010 by Vicks

Service and food not value for money.. I found the price really expensive..

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

09/04/2010 by Hakim

La cuisine y est excellente, l'atmosphère y est chaleureuse et familiale. Un large choix de plats (au point où on ne sait que choisir entre spécialités indiennes, chinoises ou locales) pour un rapport qualité/prix excellent. Je recommande ce restaurant à tous. Petite mention spéciale aux visiteurs musulmans : les plats sont tous certifiés halal.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

21/05/2010 by widaad2001

Price very very very expensive..Food not bad , desert very bad (coffee and banana flavoured ice-cream).Birthday cake was so small that some of my guests did not recieve..I regret having organized my birthday there

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

15/08/2010 by cgretchen

It was an experience eating near the seaside but however it was tainted by a certain lack of hygiene in the food. My fiance and I ordered seafood because we absolutely love those. I was however completely disgusted to see that the giant shrimps and lobster had not been cleaned, that is the black vein on their back was still there. I just couldn't make myself to eat it and i dropped it in my fiance's place without telling him why because i didn't want to make him disgusted too. There was no excuse for the chef because on that day, there were very few customers at the restaurant. Finally when i told my fiance, and that was after a long time, he reproached me the fact that i didn't tell him. And that was on a day when he wanted to go to Zub Express once more, but that bad experience was still in my mind and whenever i thought about the shrimps and lobsters, i still feel disgusted. Perhaps, you could just inform them to get their chef to follow a hygienic course for seafood? thanks

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

23/01/2012 by zaheen

I have been there many times, and I must say that i like it a lot. The deco is family friendly and have a large plce to move around and sit together. Another facility is also the tv where one can watch and eat at the same time, i find it convenient and attactive for customers. For muslims it is surely one the best place to go for a meal as there is the prayer room for both males and females and also place to do the wadhu. The toilet is very clean. The food is excellent, my family loves it lots. I have tasted tyhe chinese and indian food and I must say it is delicious. It has been some time, that the food is not what is expected, when there is loads of work, but we as customers must understand the backroom staff. The food is much more better than other places as other resto the place of indian food is much high. The only problem there is the man in charge, who does not have a welcoming attitude, not even a smile when he talks. But for a muslim its the best place to be as one get his prayer, a great seaview and delicious food.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

10/03/2013 by niraj

My family and I visited Zub-Express while on vacation. we came from Kenya. The food was very delicious and can satisfy one's hunger. When we visit Mauritius again we will sure visit the restaurant again and recommend it to others. we thank you for you service

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

23/11/2013 by Ayoob

The menu in Zub express has wonderfully evolved in a now excellent standard. Dined last night and the worderful indian and european recipe taste excellent. others may visit again for the new taste.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

13/01/2014 by Mehnaaz & Nas

I've been there for dinner with my fiancé and mother on saturday. We had a great time. We really enjoyed the food. Also the patron is really friendly. Service excellent. Only a little conplain is that we had ordered a prawn coco curry but when we were served the curry, there were only 4 prawn. Zub is the best place to eat in flic en flac.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zub Express Restaurant

13/01/2014 by Mehnaaz & Nas

Saturday i've been there with my fiancé and mother for dinner. We had a great time there. We had indian food which was simply tasty. The owner of Zub is nice and friendly, he attend to the clients personally which is really good. Only a little complain is that we had ordered a prawn coco curry but when it was served, there were only 4 prawns which is not evident. On sunday also we had ordered food from there, fried rice, very good. We'll go there whenever we decide to have food in flic en flac. TWO THUMPS UP.....

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zorba's Greek Resto

15/10/2015 by Arthur

Situated in the heart of Grand Bay, just after Sunset Boulevard to the direction of Mont Choisy this restaurant from outside looks like a typical houses in Cyclades with authentic white and blue colors. With big panoramic photo of Santorini on the background and marvelous view to the lagoon of Grand Bay, a great selection of wonderful Greek music and of course the traditional fantastic and delicious Greek kitchen in this restaurant where everything is hand made, you get the feeling that you are really at one of the Greek islands… The owner, chef and all staff are very friendly and truly lovely people who make you feel relaxed like at home. If you have sum difficulty for the choice of dishes, they will be happy to sit at your table and talk you through the menu and bring you anything you would like. Every thing we ordered was awesome, service wonderful and prices reasonable. Good place to come for a meal with family and friends. Very lovely place to sit and enjoy the atmosphere - excellent view, music and food of course! I would highly recommend to anyone, if you have never been there, just try one time - you will not regret it!

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zorba's Greek Resto

17/11/2015 by Nick Karydis

It will appeal not only to Greek community but to any nationality. You feel like home irrelevant from your nationality. One visit will convince you.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Zorba's Greek Resto

10/11/2018 by Missanga Abreu

Where to start... If ever in Grand Baie area, and craving for home made good quality greek food, this is the restaurant to go to. Lovely ambience, friendly staff and oh my lord great food from entries to dessert. The view from the top deck of the restaurant "priceless"! Really loved this, and will sure go back.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Third time and twice with a large group. Service was good as usual and so was the lamb. Unfortunately all three salmons were overcooked,all three prawn salads served with too much sauce unlike last time. One replaced with as much sauce! Even waitress noticed and voiced out same conclusion. Guess the chef did not appreciate the complaint and simply sent back a similar dish!!!Same sauce served with ALL dishes. Unusual to note that we were all served water without even ordering any!! I complained and both bottles were excluded from the bill and we only paid for those we ordered. One tea cup came with at least five ants - floating on the surface! I believe staff are trained to keep filling the glasses without even asking if one wants more. As a result at end of dinner most glassses are left at least half filled. Do not serve bread and upon our insistence same was brought from another restaurant. But cold and relatively big loaves instead of small varied hot breads as one would expect from such restaurant. Policy is not to allow birthday cake and had to order. Was proposed a chocolate fondant but were served a chocolate mousse instead. Will I go back? May be for the lamb and friendly staff. Surely not for the salmon or prawn salad and curry risotto (twice too salty). Starters - really not value for money except for the salmon (different from main dish). Similar restaurants - Courtyard and Dumont give better value for money.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Nous sommes venus pour la carte spéciale crabe. Si l'énoncé des plats était alléchant, le résultat l'était moins. Présentation bâclée, plusieurs éléments mentionnés manquants, cuisson excessive etc...et surtout pas de saveurs. Les entrées n'étaient rien de plus que des miettes de crabe mayonnaise. Nous avons signalé ces problèmes et demandé à voir le chef pour obtenir des explications, ce dernier n'a pas daigné se déplacer. A la vue d'autres commentaires, il semblerait que le chef a un ego surdimensionné. Dommage car le cadre est beau et le service est bon.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Xindix Nightclub

06/05/2012 by HP

I must say they play great music..u cannot find a better one who plays indian n western together. But the place is not well ventilated.Too many smokers which made me feel suffocated n had to rush to the corridors for fresh air. The bar tends to be too crowded at times. Overall,it was a fantastic night but only poor ventilation prob which annoyed me a lot. The music n djs are supercool so its recommended!!!

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Wang Thai

22/01/2012 by evelyne (ponpon)

Nous avons découvert ce restaurant en mai 2011 ...Nous avons adoré ..adoré l'accueil , la qualité des plats , la diversité ,le raffinement , la vaisselle toute bleue ..Nous y sommes retournés fin janvier 2012 pour un repas complet à 300 roupies TTC pour le déjeuner : un rapport qualité prix unique ..Des petites entrées délicieuses ..un plat et un dessert ..Et quand vous y êtes allés le midi vous avez envie d'y retourner le soir et tous les autres soirs ..Mon mari et moi même ne pouvons vous conseiller qu'une chose : allez -y ...Le restaurant se trouve en face du "WINNER" à la sortie de Peyrebère ..c'est un restaurant à l'étage et il y a un grand parking pour se garer ...Le temps était médiocre à Maurice (Perturbations trpicales sur Rodrigues" ce restaurant , son personnel et surtout le patron du WANG Thai ont été notre soleil : un vrai grand merci (Ponpon St Gilles La Réunion ..voir critique sur Trip advisor)

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Wang Thai

26/02/2012 by Ravi & harshini

We had a tum yum soup which was excellent. We also took chicken satay, cantonais rice, chicken green curry and honey lamb which was equally good. Price was affordable. Atmosphere was very pleasant, nice soothing music. You could choose to sit inside and you could see the chefs at work or you could choose to sit on the balcony. Highly recommended for families or couples on any occasion. So far this was the best thai restaurant we went on the island and we shall go there again.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Wang Thai

20/12/2015 by Noré

Fidèle de ce restaurant depuis 15 ans, j'y ai toujours retrouvé le même accueil et la même qualité de cuisine.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Disclaimer:

Restaurants.mu is not responsible or liable for the content of the reviews uploaded by the users of the website. The liability for uploading and using the reviews is under the sole responsibility of the users.

Displaying from 1 to 20 of 1422 Reviews.