Mauritius Dining Reviews


Dive into our collection of restaurant reviews and shake up your dining routine by discovering which restaurants are the best to visit and which ones to avoid.

1422reviews found.
Reviews

La Belle Kreole Restaurant

19/06/2009 by jihad marek

not bad food. super and very friendly service. small place. lacks a lil bit of atmosphere in my opinion

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Chez Aline

19/06/2009 by Bo

Went there couple of times during my vacation in Mauritius, the restaurant was always very busy- I guess its because the food was quite good and cheap. For sure not due to service, its only ok.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Sunset Garden

25/06/2009 by Greg1

yesterday I went there and was really disappointed from the bad food. Thank god for the good cocktails and the garden, otherwise a real big disappointment!

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Amigo Restaurant

15/07/2009 by jeffry moore

I would like to say that one of the best restaurant in Mauritius would be AMIGO, because first of all; of it's quality of food, secondly; of it's polite staff and thirdly of it's décor. I highly recommend the 'plateau of seafood' and the 'banane flambe.' After eating, my family and I had our signature on the wall. Even the president of France came there and other VIPs. Compared with restaurants in the north of Mauritius, the food is not expensive.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Le Chamarel Restaurant

24/07/2009 by Martin Knot

We stumbled across Le Chamarel while touring the southern half of Mauritius and are so glad we did. It is highly recommended. Good food, good service and the view of the sea, lagoon and the mountain around is breathtaking. Our meal at Le Chamarel was the best we had in Africa. Exceptional soup, appetizer and entrees. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the setting was fantastic. It was well worth our visit The prices are a little expensive but definitely worth for the dining experience.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Domaine Anna Restaurant

28/07/2009 by Andrew M.

If distance is no problem try Domaine Anna at Flic en Flac. It is the most amazing restaurant we have been to anywhere, the food and surroundings are amazing and excellent value. Domaine Anna is a romantic, but rather big, yet posh restaurant in the middle of sugar fields. The garden of the restaurant is just terrific at night as it has been constructed in the ruins of an old traditional stone house. They have separate portion of the restaurant for private events and festivities. The food is delicious though a little bit more expensive but it worth it. Go and enjoy – I know I very much enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the service.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Luigi's Italian Pizzeria & Pasta Bar

05/08/2009 by Jamie Lang

As Mauritian who loves Italian food, I can highly recommend Luigis restaurant. I am a regular customer of Luigis, and has been there already more than 20 times! Luigs is an Italian restaurant offering also a selection of seafood and meat dishes a little north to the center of Grand-Bay. I always eat there excellent Italian food. I think that the pizzas in Luigis are the best I had so far in Mauritius. I usually order their four seasons pizza. Other great Pizza is the Murano Pizza (tomatoes, salami, onions and mushrooms). The prices are very reasonable, and no doubt this is our favorite place for family dinning in Mauritius (especially for my children). I can also recommend some of the dessert, especially the black and white mousse, which is heavenly – the best possible combination of white and dark chocolate mousse. The atmosphere is very friendly and welcoming, the owners, a very nice Italian couple, which are always there make sure to great all customers and to manage the restaurant with much skill. Enjoy :-)

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Rochester

08/08/2009 by A. C.

OK food with nice staff. Cheap too. Dont know if come back becuase only OK food. Had better.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Ah Youn Restaurant

09/08/2009 by Andrey Williams

Ah Youn is a great restaurant with a mix of Mauritian and Chinese food on the menu. Service was friendly and quick and it was very reasonably priced. They had plenty to choose from and a decent wine list too! At the end of the meal they were also happy to call our taxi driver for us to take us back to our hotel. Ah Youn offers good value relatively authentic Chinese food. Last night we go there and spend. 35 euro for 3 people and we all have a full stomach. Ah-Youn is situated on the main road of Flic en Flac. Even though it does look basic from the outside the food makes up for this and is full with locals eating there which is always a good sign.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Amigo Restaurant

22/08/2009 by Kate

I've been going to amigo,for nearly 10 times and so far,I can rate it,as the best seafood restaurant in the indian ocean. The price is reasonable compared to lots of seafood restaurant in the north.The great and fresh lobsters that they serve in this restaurant is highly recommanded. This restaurant, located in the north has served the president of france,and other french VIPs.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Le Café des Arts

30/08/2009 by Love Mauritius (Gery .N)

Staying at the Royal palm, I was really recommended to go see this place by the concierge. I really don't know what to say about this place. I am happy I discovered this restaurant, as the food was really excellent. The only problem that in any standard the prices are very high. Cocktails are about 1000 Rs and the dinner for 4 of us was total 28000 Rs!!! which is what I paid for one night at Royal Palm. If the prices don't scare you, then you should definitely try this place - a true one of a kind

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Ah Youn Restaurant

05/09/2009 by Mahmod Alhamir

If you are looking for a value for money Chinese restaurant in Flic en Flac, than look no further. It is by far the best in the area. A negative- the service is Mauritian- it is slower than you would expect and the dishes weren't explained amazingly- but the intentions were very good. The food is amazing, especially the Chinese dishes (they also offer some international food) and the garlic sauce- delicious! we all really enjoyed them.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Domaine Anna Restaurant

06/09/2009 by Manal .G

Lets start by saying that it's beautiful as I have heard- and except that, I really believe its the best restaurant in Mauritius- even for European standards. The meal at the restaurant was amazing. I can really recommend to try the Sea Food in Domain Anna, and in particulate the Lobster- It was very well prepared, The prawns were very very big. My wife who doesn't eat fish or sea food really enjoyed this place too (she ordered veal). I am sure you will enjoy this restaurant.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Le Capitaine Restaurant - Grand Baie

11/09/2009 by Hema Lang

A great restaurant with beautiful location on the beach. The sea breeze and the view are a very big plus to this restaurant. We came as a group of 6 and we had a selection of fish and sea food dishes which all were very good. As for the service, it was terrible, but I always care much more about the quality of food than about the service and we all tried to be patient with the unprofessional staff. Prices are not cheap mid-ranged, but worth it. Highly recommend to arrive before sunset because of the view point You will love it!

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

CocoLoko Bar Restaurant

15/09/2009 by Darryl

Spent a fantastic Sunday afternoon (our last day of honeymoon) sipping coconut milkshakes with thin based pizzas and smoked marlin linguini (our new favourite dish). It's super relaxed, sophisticated and a real oasis off the streets of Grand Bay. Spent a few moments walking around taking photos of the decor and architectural detailing. The manager opened up the upstairs lounge for me to have look... was pretty fancy! They can take this concept to any Island or lowrise streetscape in the world, I'm a huge fan!

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Beach House Restaurant and Bar

20/09/2009 by F.D.

Tolles Strandrestaurant, vor allem zum Sonnenuntergang. Sehr gute Steaks im Südafrika-Stil. An manchen Tagen ist es recht voll und störend sind hin und wieder die, die einen Schluck zuviel getrunken haben. Da sollte man vielleicht vorher die Rechnung präsentieren. Ansonsten sehr empfehlenswert.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Luigi's Italian Pizzeria & Pasta Bar

27/09/2009 by Alon Pratt

We went to Luigi's this evening, 3 people. We were warmly greeted the second we got there even though it was already quite busy. We immediately felt at home, what a fantastic atmosphere! We shared a few starters: Garlic bread, calamaris (which were to die for!) and a terrific eggplant melanzane. The friendly restaurant owners, Renata and her husband, came to check we were having a good time and enjoying our food. For the main courses we shared a few pizzas: The Hawaiian, Murano and Siciliana. All were finger licking good! We also tried the Salmon Ravioli and the seafood pasta, and there were no disappointments here either: the pasta was made to perfection and the sauces were great. No meal is complete without dessert, and we had the tiramisu, the brownies with ice cream and the house specialty: Ebony and ivory - which is a mousse made of 2 layers of dark and white chocolate. The prices were more than reasonable and the whole meal including all drinks was around 2200 rupees. We will definitely come back to Luigi's on our next trip to Mauritius. I highly recommend them! Alon Pratt, Tel-Aviv

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Chez Rosy - Le Gris Gris Restaurant

28/09/2009 by carina h.

je recommande vivement ce petit resto très sympathique. vraie cuisine mauricienne.je dirais meme unique. a très bientot

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Steers - Grand Bay

05/10/2009 by F.D.

Nunja, was soll ich sagen? Beim ersten mal dachte ich: "ok, der Koch hat einen schlechten Tag und ein Fastfood-Stand ist ja auch nichts für Gourmets aber beim zweiten mal war es noch schlechter. Das Steak wirkte wie gekocht, war mit der Faser geschnitten und die Kuh war wohl schon Urgroßmutter?! Also auch wenn man nur schnell mal was essen möchte, macht dieses "Restaurant" der Steakhaus-Küche richtig Schande! Sorry.

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Amigo Restaurant

07/10/2009 by BLKJ

ill start from the dessert - the banana flambee was a great ending to the meal. the sea food platter was also great cocktails were strong with plenty of alchohol :-) the service was only good

Reply
Overall rating:
Food rating:
Service rating:
Atmosphere rating:
Reply

Disclaimer:

Restaurants.mu is not responsible or liable for the content of the reviews uploaded by the users of the website. The liability for uploading and using the reviews is under the sole responsibility of the users.

Displaying from 1 to 20 of 1422 Reviews.